Road to Improvement Swimming vs. Running (Read 1599 times)

Sorry for the length of this. This is a call for help or at least some insight on my swimming improvement (lack of) and ideas on turning it around. As a runner for 20+ years, I know a little about training and how to improve. As many have said on these forums, it’s not that complex. Run more miles and more often and you will get faster. Do some fast running in training and you will get even faster. I have lots of personal experience to draw from. When I increase my training volume and within reason, increase my intensity, I see real results: lower race times as well as lower effort required at all paces. Make no mistake, I am not a top runner, but am comfortably a mid-packer. I race 5 miles in under 40 minutes and my ½ marathon PR is 1:48 (8:19-mile). I recently ran a marathon in a little over 4 hours. I guess like many others here, my running mileage is not consistent year round,, so when I do ramp it up, I see almost immediate improvement. The same can not be said for my swimming. After running my marathon earlier this year (Ocean Drive on 3/30/08), I felt a little banged up and wanted to start swimming again. I’m 47 and while I love running and always will, I like to take a break once in a while. Over the years, I have spent a good amount of time lap swimming for fitness. I never swam on a team as a youth, but I have decent strokes (I think). Having decent cardio fitness, I swam a mile at the Y’s 50 meter pool. My time was 38:20. That is pretty slow, but I was not discouraged because I haven’t swum much in the past couple years. Since then, I joined the Masters group and have been swimming regularly. But my time doesn’t get any faster. My kick is useless; I’ve been told I have a runner’s kick. I go nowhere on kick sets. I’ve read that in distance swimming, your kick really ought to be to just get your legs out of the way and don’t try to get propulsion from them. I know about Total Immersion and it makes