Training Speed (Read 584 times)

Eustace Tierney

YoYo

New to this site and enjoying the huge range of topics discussed. I have been running on and off for 20 yrs but never got to much involved with the technical side of things. Running is going fairly well at moment and I hope to complete the local 10k in June in a sub 40 time. Something I have achieved previously in training but never in a race. I am currently training at around 7min mile pace and going ok but when i increase the pace I always seem to get injured (calf strains mainly.) I only do about three runs a week between 6 & 7 miles each but tend to push myself for each run. Can anyone advise me what pace i should be training at to achieve my sub 40 goal. Thanks

"The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare." Goals: Keep on running!

Scout7

Probably around an 8 minute pace, and then increase your volume.
      Eustace Tierney

YoYo

Dont know if i could run that slow and still enjoy it, but better Slow Miles than No Miles! Dont really have time to up the milage. Isuppose a compromise is needed!

"The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare." Goals: Keep on running!