The secret to running fast (Read 2999 times)

I keep hearing disdain about only running 30 miles per week.   I have a couple years experience now, and I have only gotten like 3 30 mile weeks in.   Now granted I am over weight, I am sure that is a factor.    I feel as though if I tried to run 30 miles every week my legs would just fall off.   I have a better plan now I think to increase my mileage so I will see how it goes.

Wouldn't genetics play a huge roll in the amount of work volume a certain person could sustain?

Feeling the growl again

I keep hearing disdain about only running 30 miles per week.   I have a couple years experience now, and I have only gotten like 3 30 mile weeks in.   Now granted I am over weight, I am sure that is a factor.    I feel as though if I tried to run 30 miles every week my legs would just fall off.   I have a better plan now I think to increase my mileage so I will see how it goes.

Wouldn't genetics play a huge roll in the amount of work volume a certain person could sustain?

It's not disdain, just acknowledging that such low volume is not likely to give you insight into your absolute potential.  Not everyone's goal is to fulfill their potential, that's ok as long as the one choosing not to is acknowledging it as a choice and not destiny by genetics.

Genetics insofar is they lead to your build and joint construction surely can play a role in the volume you can tolerate, but 30 mpw is pretty low for an absolute max.  Weight is under personal control, for example, you may find that when the weight comes off you can tolerate a lot more.

You're only a couple years in, you said.  A few years from now if you are consistent and work at it you may find yourself at double that volume.  Two years isn't long in this game.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

First, +1 to spaniel's reply.