Overtraining (Read 249 times)

MJeffery

Hi all,

I've been running for 4+ years now and recently ran marathon #5 (Boston) in April. I probably didn't rest up enough since Boston and got back into training a little too soon. Looking back, there were some warning signs starting in early to mid-May. Runs that should have been easy felt tedious. I blamed it on rising temperatures. I had Escape from Alcatraz to train for on June 11. I found myself needing to take an extra recovery day here and there and thought I was listening to my body but apparently not enough. Since Alcatraz I felt stale; my speedwork was a bit slower than planned or I'd have to cut it one rep short. A little over a week ago I decided to start resting up but my idea of rest was to cap my workouts at an hour and keep them all at a very easy pace. Then I woke up one day and was so exhausted I could barely walk. I'm on day 3 of only walking and I'm still very moody, lethargic, and just generally feel like shit. I'm waiting for the results of blood tests.

Has anyone else gone through this? If so, how long did it take to bounce back? Besides antioxidants, fish oil to reduce inflammation, and BCAA's, are there any supplements I can take that will help?

Btw, I am eating ridiculous amounts of food even though I'm not training and gaining weight at an alarming rate. I'd like to stop but it's hormonal. :-(

Mariah

mitch.black

For supplements, I'd definitely recommend calcium-magnesium pills. They get essential recovery minerals into your body. A little pricey, but definitely worth it for your training. Cheaper option could be regular epsom salt baths, that will hopefully help in the recovery process too. Being a female marathon runner, there is a 99% chance you are low on iron, I'm sure the blood work will tell the full story of that as well. Hope you get back soon!