How do you prevent running injuries? (Read 321 times)

Zivaa

Hi everyone!  This is my first forum post. I was hoping to get some insight on injury prevention for runners.

First, a little bit about me: My name is Ziva, and I’m a college student interested in neurological engineering and feedback, mostly in runners because they have a such a high chance of injury. I’m working on building a feedback system that allows runners to give inputs about how they feel while running, and hopefully change this statistic.

I was looking for some running guys/gals to answer questions about running injuries. Have you ever gotten injured while running?

What do you do to prevent running injuries? What is your rehabilitation process like? How do running injuries affect you? If you haven’t gotten injured what’s your secret/regiment?

Master of Inconsistency

Ziva ,

No idea what you are working on but I believe we all have a feedback system . These are called senses . The problem with myself , is that when I do get hurt, I tend to ignore what my body is telling me . I am an idiot . This cannot be helped . Good luck in your research .

Ain't  Wastin' Time No More !

xhristopher

As Greg said, we already have a feedback system. It's probably more important to figure out how to get people to listen to it, even when they have good data telling them something is wrong. Runners like to press their luck.

Most running injuries can be reduced to a simple equation: Running too far, too fast, too soon = injury.

Most running injuries can be reduced to a simple equation: Running too far, too fast, too soon = injury.

Every time I see your handle, I think of Mike Richter. Any relation?

MTA: comma.

"If you have the fire, run..." -John Climacus

Zivaa

Yeah, that's exactly the problem!  Most injuries are because people aren't listening to their senses!