Prerequisites for a 12hr race (Read 192 times)

Wing

Joggaholic

I am new to running ultras. I want to know if there are some recommended (not bare minimum) experience before even training for one, things that would indicate that I have the required base and/or endurance to start training and doing the race without either one turning out to be complete misery?

I am considering the 12hr at Ultracentric in mid-Nov, and my goal is to complete >50 miles and not have a death-march or need to sit out at the end. The course is a flat 2-mile asphalt loop so I figured it will be good for a newbie. (I normally run alone on roads, so not needing to worry about support issues is important)

Given 4 months and my current fitness, I'm trying to judge where on the suffering-scale the training and racing will be on (I'm fairly risk-averse so I probably won't undertake this if the pain level is too high). I've been doing >200 mi months since beginning of this year, but my long runs normally do not extend beyond 13 miles (~2hrs). The longest I have done was 8+ hours (40 mi) on the treadmill which incorporated frequent breaks (every 10-15 minutes), but that was just a one-time stunt. (If you look at my last 2 month's workouts they're not normal. Jan-May are more representative of my normal training load)

Thanks!

Feeling the growl again

A lobotomy.  Big grin

If you could do 8 hrs on the TM with some breaks I would say you are in the neighborhood of where you need to be for your 12-hour.  But I'm sure more experienced people will be along to comment.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills