Does Basketball help running? (Read 1610 times)

krypto

Hey I run cross country and I also play basketball a lot with my friends. I'm a freshman trying to get in the 19's in the 5k. Would doing cross-training such as basketball help along with running?

thanks

stephen

I always noticed that the fastest runners on my XC team also had the highest vertical jump, regardless of weight.  The top guys were 5'7 and 5'9 and both could touch the rim.  I was the same weight, but at 6'1" couldn't get close ... and my 5k times were ~3 minutes slower (high 17s to low 18s vs. high 14s to low 15s - both went to nationals).  I guess this makes some sense - if you have stronger legs you have the potential to travel further with each stride.

I have no scientific proof either way though.  Just make sure not to overtrain - if you're running 5-6 days per week you probably shouldn't be playing full court hoops for another 5 hours. 

I read somewhere that cross training with exercises that involve side-to-side sudden movements is not really a great idea. Maybe that was for marathon training exclusively but I just know I saw something about avoiding strange directions of motion that aren't really used for running.
        L Train

I think we runners put some serious stress on some of our joints and ligaments, which obviously makes us stronger in those areas we use.  But I think it can also make us weaker and susceptible to injury in other areas.  I know a very good runner whe had to have knee surgery because of a recent basketball injury, and the side to side motion was the reason.

That said, I suspect that someone who plays basketball regularly would already have those areas strengthened, and I doubt it would be a problem.  It's the guy that just goes and plays a few pickup games here and there that I'd worry about.

But I think most importantly, basketball will not help your running.  Running will help your running.   

A Saucy Wench