Bandit Pacing Views? (Read 1360 times)

xor

What about banditing at Bay to Breakers?

Clothed?

Kalsarikännit

Of course not.  Where would the naked people pin their bibs?  They could get one of those weird bib belts, but that will hide the old men's old bouncing junk.

Banditing Boston is a time honored tradition.  I always thought the bandits lined up in the back, and they are bandits, not pacers.  I'm no expert, though.  

I did just read this and I thought it was interesting:

Hoyt and his son Rick will be lining up for their 30th Boston Marathon this year. Rick has cerebral palsy, and Dick pushes him a wheelchair. When the Hoyt sought entry in the 1981 Boston Marathon, they were denied because they hadn't posted a qualifying time. And the additional catch was that their qualifying time would be based on Rick's age rather than his dad's -- a gap of nearly 22 years. At the time that meant qualifying in 2 hours, 50 minutes.

"We lined up as a bandit in those days," Dick said.

While stealth entry is increasingly frowned upon in today's running culture, Boston organizers typically looked the other way and allowed runners without numbers to start in the back of the pack and run the marathon if they wanted. Dick's running career had only started four years earlier at the age of 37, but he pushed Rick a very respectable 3:18 time in 1981, followed by a 2:59 and 2:58 the following years. Still not good enough and no waiver was granted by BAA.

I want to do it because I want to do it.  -Amelia Earhart

Hoyt and his son Rick will be lining up for their 30th Boston Marathon this year. Rick has cerebral palsy, and Dick pushes him a wheelchair. 

but [Hoyt] pushed Rick a very respectable 3:18 time in 1981, followed by a 2:59 and 2:58 the following years.

Wow!  amazing story as it is, but a 2:58 for them is quite impressive.

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

Kalsarikännit

Wow!  amazing story as it is, but a 2:58 for them is quite impressive.