Knee pain with increased mileage (Read 464 times)

lilyriver

Hi all, I know this is a really common question or type of question, but I'm hoping the experts out there won't mind and that you all will be willing to share your advice! I've been running for almost 2 years now. I just started getting serious about it last summer (so about 8 months ago), keeping a training log and incorporating some longer distances and -- less often -- some basic speed work. I really love running and can't imagine stopping. Right now I'm training for my first half-marathon which takes place in three weeks (gulp!) and aside from a bit of a cold and a bunch of snow, things have been going well. But recently, really just as soon as my weekly mileage went over 30, I've started noticing some aching in both my knees. It's concentrated in the knee caps and seems to affect both right and left sides equally. I notice it more while I'm running (especially near the end of longer distances), but I can feel it when I'm just walking around, too. Arthritis, especially in the knees, runs in my family, so I'm wondering if that could be the problem, though I'm only 25. I don't want to do permanent damage to my knees, of course, but so far the pain is nothing I can't run through. Should I decrease my mileage? take extra rest days? try certain stretches or exercises? Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you!

SMART Approach