Beer ingredients (Read 72 times)

Dream Maker

Not that I am worried about all ingredients here but thought some might find it interesting

http://foodbabe.com/2013/07/17/the-shocking-ingredients-in-beer/

Prince of Fatness

I don't see any beer in this picture from the article.

Not at it at all. 

TJoseph

Newcastle is tasty even if it is ale and not beer.  GMO corn hasn't killed me yet and it has been around for nearly 20 years, so I am not too worried about that.

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Help me understand what you mean when you say that an ale is not a beer...

TJoseph

I am not a beer expert, but I understand it has to do with the brewing process (the yeast is on top in ale?)  In California any beer over 3.99% alcohol by weight may not be called "beer," but must be called "Malt Liquor, Ale, Stout or Porter."

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Beer is any alcohol-containing fermented beverage made off of a grain base, typically fermented with barley, wheat, rye and/or corn (yes, sake is a type of beer). Beer can be classified as being an ale or a lager, based on the type of yeast used, with MOST beers being ales. California's arbitrary laws do not necessarily reflect the world of beer, nor do Germany's purity laws (which state that beer can ONLY contain barley or wheat, water, yeast and hops).

TJoseph

Well I did say that I am not an expert

Prince of Fatness

Beer is any alcohol-containing fermented beverage made off of a grain base, typically fermented with barley, wheat, rye and/or corn.

Or potatoes!  Wink

Not at it at all. 

Well despite some strongly disparaging comments elsewhere on this site, I still like the regular Guinness. And now I know it is because of the fish bladder. I guess it is an acquired taste.

Dave

Am I doing this right?

Not that I am worried about all ingredients here but thought some might find it interesting

http://foodbabe.com/2013/07/17/the-shocking-ingredients-in-beer/

That's why I brew my own, duh.