Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome - HELP (Read 838 times)

Angry A couple of weeks ago I noticed some knee pain. I self diagnosed as Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome, this was confirmed by 2 other non medical diagnoses. I took a few days off... things started to feel better. Went for a run..... regressed. Played ice hockey, really bad idea. Went to see a sports medicine doc. He said there is no structural damage and I should reduce my mileage and distance. Took a few more days off and started to feel great. Ran 10K on Sunday and felt OK after the run but the pain is back as of this evening. Should I stop running until I am 100% pain free? I don't want this to turn into a long term issue. I'm training for my first half on March 2 and I don't want to lose the little bit of fitness that I current have. HELP ME. Jason
      I am by no means a doctor or anything of sorts, but I can tell you from experience that PFS is really frustrating and that there is hope! I suffer from it too. I had it so bad that I could not climb stairs or sit without holding onto something. One month and 2 doctors later I learned that by just consistently strengthening my legs (esp quads) and stretching as often as possible, I am able to run with out a problem, to include a half marathon. For pain after runs..some aleve and icing them for 20 minutes keeps the inflammation down. They still hurt a little bit after longs runs, and I still have problems when doing squats or kneeling down, but other than that they have been MUCH better. If your knees are still swollen or hurting I would try cross-training for awhile while you work on strengthening and stretching. I am sure there are plenty of articles online for how to strengthen around your knee cap. Dont go crazy in the beginning as you want them to heal. Hope this helps Smile
      zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem