Achilles problem - I think? (Read 944 times)

pitrunner

For the past few weeks I have noticed that my achilles tendon (at least I think that's what it is) is incredibly stiff when I wake up in the morning or after any extended sedentary period. I feel it especially when going down the steps. Is this achilles tendonitis? And if so, what the heck am I supposed to do about it? At this point it's just a nuisance and doesn't bother me at all when I'm running or spinning but I'd hate to be doing something to make it worse. Anyone ever have anything like this?
    C-R

Been there and done that too many times. I'm no doctor but have been dealing with AT for some time. What you describe seems to catch the basics. Have you upped miles recently? More hills than usual? Shoes too old or worn out? Running on your toes? These are frequent starters of AT. Look at your training recently for clues. Best advice I received was RICE (rest, ice, compression and elevation). If you are able, use something like advil to help relieve the soreness but be careful as it can mask more serious issues. Pain is a way to tell us to take a breather. I've receovered from my goof at the last marathon through PT, ultrasound treaments, cross frictional massage (ouch) and building miles slowly. I also use eccentric loading exercises to build strength. Good luck on this one

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
      "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

pitrunner