Marathon for novice? (Read 1546 times)

aditya83

Hi,

I've been running for the past 8 or 9 months now (since Nov 2011) and have seen a great improvement in my running capacity. When I started out, I could hardly run for 10 or 15 minutes without getting breathless and having to stop. Last Sunday, I ran for about 90 minutes and covered about 12 kms. My current weekly mileage is about 35 kms (275 minutes). I train in Mumbai (India) where the temperature is close to 30 C (80 F) with humidity of 90% and I take it really slow - as you can see my average pace is about 7.5 minutes per km.

I am following Tim Noakes' "Beginner's Marathon Plan" and have completed 13 weeks out of the total 26 weeks. I am running my first HM in Delhi on 30 September. I am fairly confident of being able to complete the race comfortably and injury free, although I haven't set a time target for myself. My estimate on current pace is that it should take more than 2h 30m for the race.

I have 2 questions:

1. I am debating if I should register for the Mumbai Full Marathon (20 Jan 2013). The only goal will be to finish the training and marathon injury free. I know the best advice would be to take it slow and go for the 2014 edition, but running a full is something I really want to do!
    2. The longest run in my training schedule is only for 150 minutes and that too in week 23. Given my slow pace, would this schedule be appropriate for me. I don't think I will be able to cover more than 20 kms in 150 mins. Is that good enough as the longest run in a FM training schedule?

You can see the full training schedule here

Thanks!

an amazing likeness

Why don't you run the half marathon first and see how you do with the 21KM before moving on?  You really aren't running that much of a base at this time, and don't have a lot of time building that small base.

Now, I have no doubt that you (and any reasonable fit person) could complete the 26.2 miles, but how miserable of an experience do you want?