Adding hill repeats (Read 916 times)

Queen of 3rd Place

Sorry in advance for the length of this post... Background: I've been running for two years now, but consistently only since last fall. I've been at 30 - 40 mpw for the last 4 or 5 months. I'm feeling very comfortable with my mileage - no aches/pains, no ibu needed, (tasty beer is my painkiller of choice), finding it very enjoyable blah blah blah. My usual route includes a few rolling hills, nothing major, the largest is an 800 yard-long section that climbs maybe 300 - 400ft, if one believes websites such as mapmyrun or google maps. Typical long run in the 10 - 12mi range, I usually get in a midweek semi-long run around 7 - 8. Almost all of these runs have been done at an easy pace, because I've already done the run-every-run-too-fast, get-injured plan, followed by the jump-right-into-weekly-interval-sessions, get injured plan. These plans taught me that teen XC runners really do get older Big grin Now, however, I think I'm ready to try adding some hill repeats (I like hills - call me a masochist), probably every other week. I've read a lot of different ideas about how long, how many, how to go about it in general - and I wouldn't mind some additional input on that, but the part that really stumps me is, how the heck do I measure the grade?? Do I trust mapmyrun? My Garmin? My memories from high school XC? Does it really matter? Should I STFU and just run? Maybe I've answered my own question... Arla

Ex runner

Lazy idiot

nothing major, the largest is an 800 yard-long section that climbs maybe 300 - 400ft
      This does not sound insignificant, to me. By my calcs (not sure if they're right), that's around a 13% grade. MTA: this helps me: http://www.runningahead.com/forums/post/ea498a257d23446d93fb41c5d8619fb6#focus

Tick tock

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey