Advise me on my upcoming race please. (Read 804 times)

Slow-smooth-fast

I have got a race on Saturday. It is a 10k, and on the description it says it is not one for PBs and it has some nasty hills. Apparently one of the toughest local 10ks around too! The thing is I have not raced since last year, and I am very nervous, especially because I have been up and down with injury. I feel like I am a noob all over again, and would like some advice regarding the runs leading up to the race. How much, what intensity etc, so I am best prepared. I did 10 miles last night. First 5 at tempo pace, and then for the last 5 I felt very sluggish, like I had zero energy and my legs would not move. This was a strange feeling, and so I am defo not running tonight. I need my legs to be fresh for the race so I can give it my best possible performance. Comments and advice welcome. PS, all the family are going and this is the first time they will have all together seen me and my brother in the same race who is going to knock about 8 minutes off my time. So I want to give as good an effort as possible.

"I've been following Eddy's improvement over the last two years on this site, and it's been pretty dang solid. Sure the weekly mileage has been up and down, but over the long haul he's getting out the door and has turned himself into quite a runner. He's only now just figuring out his potential. Consistency in running is measured in years, not weeks. And over the last couple of years, Eddy's made great strides" Jeff 14 Jan 2009