Motivating a new runner (Read 962 times)

The Meek One

I am new to the running community. In fact I just started running this week. My first couple of runs have been about a mile long, and I know my lungs are protesting, but overall I feel great about getting out! Does anyone have advice for staying motivated during these first efforts. Also I want to run the Turkey Trot 5k here in Detroit as my first race any suggestions for beginning a training program? Thanks Big grin

Also I want to run the Turkey Trot 5k here in Detroit as my first race
      That's my advice in a nutshell right there: Register for a race. That is one of the best ways to motivate yourself early on to keep going. If you can keep up an activity for 30 days, it will probably become a habit.

Run to Win
      25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)

va

Read this thread: From a slug to a runner.
        zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Missa, the Couch-to-5k plan is really excellent. A lof of folks, including your's truly, got started with that. Smile WELCOME! k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

Like you, I'm a fairly new runner. It was very hard at first. I could bairly run one time around the track. The hardest part for me on each run was always the first couple of steps. Once I got going, I really enjoyed it. But, it does get better with continued effort. The key for me has been patience. I'm slowly building my distance and speed - adding a half mile to a mile each week.
            "If I control myself, I control my destiny."