Running apps/communities (Read 240 times)

Insomniac1984

Hey everyone. I'm doing my phd on running apps and communities such as RunKeeper of MapMyRun. I was wondering who of you is using them and to what extend they add something to your running (e.g. sharing runs with others, social contact with other runners...). I was hoping to get a view on why these are being used and what the user experience is. Hope to get some insights from you, runners. You can always send me a message if you have any questions! I'm hoping for a lively discussion, so fire away

Cheers!

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

I used RunKeeper when I first started (the Web, not the phone app).  I used it for the logging and social-sharing-reinforcement-competition with a friend who got me into running.  The interface was simple.  Before I had a GPS watch I'd use it to figure out routes and how far I ran.  Always interesting to see the elevation grades around town.  I stopped using it for three reasons:

- the GPS mileage uses a different algo than the Garmin watch -- so they were annoyingly out of sync.

- RunningAHEAD provided me a lot more logging options to keep track of my training and graph my progress

- The RunningAHEAD community integrates a sagely [I see you laughing from the swamp] advice and training logs by integrating a forum, rather than the "good job" one-liners of a twitter-feed.

RunningAHEAD is just a more serious tool for training.

I used DailyMile for similar reasons as RunKeeper, and quit for similar reasons.

I've also used Fitocracy in the past with a few friends to egg them on to better fitness.  The burden of bookkeeping eventually overwhelmed the fun of competing for arbitrary points.  Also the skin-deep encouragement and cheerleading eventually got under my nerves.

Good luck on the PhD.

2021 Goals: 50mpw 'cause there's nothing else to do

TeaOlive

old woman w/hobby