0 to 5k! (Read 141 times)

jordanjon

Hi y'all!  After being out of shape for basically my entire adult life (6'2", 220 lbs), I recently started training, by walking 1.5 - 2 hours a day and switching to a healthy, sustainable diet.  I've lost about 10 pounds in the last month and change.

My goal is to start running, and hopefully start running 5Ks - I don't care how long it takes, I just need to get there.  The problem I'm having right now is that I find it very tough to even jog for more than a half mile. Right now I can consistently walk a mile in just under 20 minutes  wearing 2-pound weights on each ankle.

Do you all have any advice for how I can build up my endurance and train myself to start running?  I'm absolutely committed to this, but I am not in any hurry and willing to put in the effort to train.  I really appreciate any help you all can give me, and God bless!

Get rid of the ankle weights.  They are not helping.

I suggest shortening the walks to about an hour, and picking up the pace a little.  Walk comfortably fast, as if you were trying to get somewhere.  You should be able to carry on a conversation the entire time.  When your comfortably fast walking pace gets down to about 16 minutes per mile, then try running.  At first, just run a little bit now and then in the middle of your walk.  Then a little bit more.

The correct easy running pace is that pace at which you can carry on a conversation.  You run/walk easy to build your aerobic base, then the speed will come naturally.

Ten pounds weight loss in one month is a little fast if you are doing serious training.  I suggest eating a little more, and relax your weight loss target to about five pounds per month.  Your theoretical lean and mean running weight is somewhere around 170 pounds.  Five pounds per month will get you there in a year.