Shin Splints!! (Read 773 times)

Giant

Ouch, I've never had this before and it hurts!! What causes it and how do i make the pain go away?
    celiacChris

3Days4Cure

Giant, I am no expert, but I have dealt with these in the past. Three things to consider for causes: - Have you had your shoes professionally fit? If so, how many miles are on them? - Have you recently drastically increased your activity? AKA adding a lot of mileage, extra runs or the like? - Are you relatively new to the sport and unaccostomed to the amount of activity? For me, I gave myself this problem with #2. The best solution for me was an exercise called toe taps, which a runner on another forum recommended (if I had their name or the post, I would cite them). Toe taps: when sitting down, with your feet flat, leave your heels on the floor and tap your toes up and down. 50 with your feet pointing straight ahead; 50 with them pointing to the right, 50 with them pointing to the left. Repeat whenever you remember, until you think you'll scream if you do another set. Then do another set. Several others have offered their wisdom before on this, so check out these threads: http://www.runningahead.com/forums/search?keywords=shin+splints Hope that helps! Chris Newbie that is good at breaking herself and rebuilding...

Chris
      PRs: 27:26 5k/ 49:52 5mi/ 58:17 10k/ 2:09:24 half/ 5:13:17 Full

Post-Bipolar PRs: 38:35 5k/ 1:09:34 8k/ 1:09:39 5mi/ 1:33:03 10k/ 3:20:40 Half

2022 Goals

Back to 10k

The Greatest of All Time

I have gotten them for so many reasons, you pick and see if any fit: 1. Wrong shoes, too hard for me. 2. Worn out shoes. 3. Track workouts. 4. Excessive mileage. 5. Excessive body weight. 6. New to running. I am sure there are others. Assuming there is nothing structurally wrong, eliminate the cause, ice, some ibuprofen, and perhaps rest. Typically they clear right up if you identify the cause and remove it.
        all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be