Have you switched shoes? Why did you do it? (Read 923 times)

I was reading one of the many posts on shoes asking about mileage and that got me to wondering if it would be worth it to switch shoes to try to get more mileage (because I'm a cheap miserable human being that doesn't want to spend money). I've been running on Mizuno Wave Riders for the past 18 months and I've gone through quite a few pair. Since I've diligently started tracking my mileage on them I've noticed I get about 300 - 350 good miles before I start to notice pain. I have considered changing shoes but a) these shoes are relatively cheap and b) my feet can always "feel" these shoes and I'm used to them. A different shoe feels, well, different. Has anyone ever switched and got more mileage? So that got me wondering...obviously the main reason to buy a shoe is it feels good but a close second (for me at least) is getting the most bang for my buck. Are there any other reasons for switching?
    2008 Goals Don't attack the guy that passes me like I'm standing still when I think I'm running fast...I can't catch him anyway and I'd just look silly
    CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay

The only other reason that comes to mind for switching is due to real changes in surface. For example, if you were changing over to trail running, you might want a specific trail shoe instead of a regular running shoe. 300 miles sounds about average for mileage on a shoe from what I've read on here.

Half Fanatic #9292. 

Game Admin for RA Running Game 2023.

milkbaby