Help (Read 110 times)

lukero1234

So here's my story,

I've been a regular runner now for a while, competed in 10ks, and run on a regular basis. I decided that this year i'd challenge myself to do a marathon. I've been training now for a few months, and 2 weeks ago, got up to 18 miles. It was a tough run, plenty of uphill points, but i did it. Afterwards i was tired, but, had i needed to, i could've pushed out a couple of extra miles.

So this was on February 28th. I have a recurring Shouder issure, with my rotator cuff, totally unrelated to running, and was in a lot of pain for a few days, so couldnt run for a week. Anyway last Tuesday i set out for a run. As soon as i started, my legs were heavy, aching, and 1.5 miles in, my calf totally tightened, and i had to stop.

Its now Saturday, and i hadnt exercised for 4 days due to my calf. This morning i ran 3 miles. Calf wasn't great, but was ok. However my legs were again, heavy, aching, knees were in pain, and this was from the off. So in the last 12 days, i've run 4.5 miles. And during, and afterwards, my legs feel as if they've completely given up on me.

My marathon is in 3 weeks, and running 3 miles has become a challenge. 2 weeks after being able to run 18 and feel ok afterwards.

What is wrong with me? Why do my legs appear to be completely shot to pieces?

And where do i go from here? I assume rest, but rest is all i've done for 12 days, and it doesnt appear to have helped.

tom1961

Old , Ugly and slow

You should think about skipping this one and find a fall marathon

first race sept 1977 last race sept 2007

2019  goals   1000  miles  , 190 pounds , deadlift 400 touch my toes

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay

I'd rethink the marathon in 3 weeks. Yes, you could probably do it and probably walk a ton of it, but don't rush your first marathon. Give yourself the time to train properly.