Goal of sub 17 minute 5k (Read 8285 times)

OK - this copied across from another forum where I just posted it on the kind advice of MrPHinNJ.

This, my musings (hopefully with some suggestions from others!) on achieving a sub-17 minute 5k. I have a good general level of running fitness (I have been running "seriously" for about 5 years), but have generally only averaged 20-30k per week. I'm aiming for a sub-17 minute 5k in July 2010.

Rather than following complex training programmes, I'm trying a "fire and ice" approach. In other words, I'm running one 5k race at the weekend as hard as I can, and then trying to fit in as many long slow runs as I can (typically about 2 hours+ at 05:30 - 06:00 km pace). This has upped my weekly mileage for last two weeks from 30k, to 70k.

The last four weeks of 5k runs have been 19:11, 18:48, 18:52 and 18:37. So it's coming down, but I only have about 8 weeks to go.

Next weekend I'm doing the Edinburgh Marathon (plan to run at less than 85% MHR throughout, so I don't do too much damage...)

Thoughts, anybody?

Went out today and ran 34km, so that's 107km for the past six days. Day off tomorrow (Friday), then the next 5k Race. Overdoing it? Or under 18:37? Time will tell!

mikeymike

Thoughts, anybody?

I think racing a 5k every week and running lots of easy miles the rest of the week can work.  There's lots of people who've had success with that.

As for me I got brutally sick and I'm just now trying to get back to normal mileage before resuming hard workouts.  This thing knocked me on my ass and I've lost nearly 3 weeks.  I think my spring sub 17 plans are out the window but maybe later in the summer.  I'm already signed up for a 5k on memorial day weekend and assuming I get a few decent weeks of training before then, I'll at least know where I stand.

It's always something with this stupid 5k quest, though.

Runners run

Glad you think it might work - sorry your training got wiped for a while...