Please keep the forums civil! (Read 7487 times)

eric :)

The last couple of weeks have been hard on all of us, particularly for the Cool Running folks who were looking for a new home. No one expected the sequence of failures on Active.com's part and I was not prepared for the sudden influx of new users to my humble "little" site. Many of the new users have only discovered RunningAHEAD recently, so let me start by introducing myself and give you a little background on the site itself. My name is Eric (I'm going for the one name thing made popular by Madonna, Britney and Paris) and I work as a software engineer at a large corporation. My group produces a product that enables users to retain control of their electronic documents over the internet. I will not bore you with the details. I first started running some 11 years ago. When I started training for my first marathon back in 2003, I wanted to track my progress. I looked around for a decent computerized log, but found none. So I decided to create my own. As a software engineer, I naturally got carried away with adding new features, and my friends urged me to make it publicly available. They reasoned that there must be other runners out there that enjoy staring at numbers as much as I do. So the site went live in March of 2005. Within the year, I switched the site over to a dedicated server due to the ever increasing traffic. Since then, I have received numerous inquiries from users, potential advertisers and investors asking about my business plan and how I go about paying for the bandwidth. My reply was I am not a business person. I'm far more interested in creating something than reaping its benefits. The donations that you so generously sent me help cover most of the costs while I pay for the rest. Don't get me wrong. We all love money, and I do have plans to create a constant revenue stream to support the site. However, I also believe that there exists a happy median between the needs of the site and those of