Experienced runner feeling exhausted, sluggish, having to take breaks -- why? (Read 684 times)

Ngineered

spam
    AMKinCO

I am a doctor, please go see your doctor.

A resting HR of 112 is way too high.  Hopefully it is nothing but the big bad things can be ruled out with some pretty basic blood tests, EKG, physical exam and a history.  I agree with seeing a doctor who also runs (a lot of us do), they will understand why this is unusual and won't blow you off.

A

Hedgehog25

Well, unfortunately, for the last week, I have been feeling exhausted during my running again and having to take breaks. I am going to a doctor's office next week for a blood test, but in the meantime, what do you guys think is going on (if it's not a heart problem)? AMKinCO, since you are a doctor, what do you think is going on? Thyroid issues?

FTYC

Faster Than Your Couch!

I think no doctor will make a diagnosis over the internet, even if you describe your symptoms to the T. Just their way of making sure the diagnosis is right.

It could be a lot of things, I would definitely also have an EKG taken to look at the heart's electrical activity, and have a general physical exam, including the most important lymph nodes, etc. Blood work is great, but it cannot explain everything.

Please go see a doctor, rather sooner than later. The longer you run with this "condition", the more likely it is that it could cause permanent damage.

Run for fun.

Hedgehog25

Statements like the one above regarding me causing permanent damage are what freaks me out about going to a doctor (even though I'm going). I will be totally devastated if it ends up being some neurodegenerative disease. So aside from degenerative/heart disorders, what else could it be? Just out of curiosity...

King of PhotoShop

I can't believe this thread is still going on.  You have to go to the &%$#@ doctor!  Just go to the doctor!  Spareribs

what else could it be? .