Recovering alcoholic wants to run (Read 209 times)

Iaa

So a week ago I stopped drinking and started running. I've been drinking every day for about 5 years, and now without the alcohol to keep me occupied I need a new hobby. One that will help me stay sober by not being compatible with drinking, and maybe also help me lose some of my beer belly would be ideal. Running seems like a good match. I've been running every day this week.

As a tool to stay motivated and not slip back into old habits I think setting some goals would be helpful. I hope you guys could help me with some inspiration and of course knowledge about how to reach them.

As far as I know I should focus on running long and slow in the beginning, but how long and how slow? And how often?

My personal stats:

Male

32 years old

75 - 80 kg

175 cm

Daydreamer1

I'll tell you to go out every day. At first you may have to take a lot of walk breaks but it's getting out there that counts.  The first goal that I would make is to get in some form of exercise each day.  Just don't jump in so hard that you get all sore and beat up and don't want to get back out each day.  Try starting with 2-3 miles every day and after a week or two reevaluate.

Over time you should learn what type of running you prefer, shorter, faster distances or longer and slower distances.  Then you can adjust your training from there.

Congrats on kicking the habit

Iaa

Thanks.

I'm definitely the type of guy who jumps in too hard. That's what it did with the drinking, and probably what I'll do now with the running.

I've been doing 6 miles every day for 8 days now, slow but no walking. I don't think running longer would be a problem, but probably not every day. And how hard should I push?