Elliptical vs Fast Walking? (Read 95 times)

littleGizmo

Cross Training running with Elliptical or Fast Walking for a new runner?

I am following a walk/run program and making progress. I am brand new to running, haven't run in 27 years since cross country in High School. Very out of shape. I was wondering on my non run days what would be a good cross training exercise to help improve my running.Fast Walking or Elliptical ?

I am not at the stage yet where I can run for 30 minutes straight at a comfortable level 2 heartbeat pace that I can consistently do. Right now if I try to run for 30 minutes after 30 minutes of jogging my heart rate is at 160 - 165 bps at around 5 mph pace and it is over training for me.   If I slow it down to like 3.5 - 4.0 mph Fast walking pace I can do that comfortable for 30 minutes with my heart rate staying the whole time in zone 2 around 117 Beats Per Second.

I also was experimenting with the elliptical on my off days as a nice supplement to do on my non run/walking days since it is close to running but easier. I can keep my heart rate more in a level 2 zone easier on the elliptical, 115-120 bps and don't get as sore afterwards.

I been following a run /walk program where I run at a 5-6 mph pace for a couple minutes, walk a minute, run again for 2 minutes at a 5-6 mph pace. I do this for 30 minutes 3 times a week.  so far I will be starting week 3 today. on my non run days I been supplementing it with either the elliptical machine or doing some Fast Walking on a slight incline for 30 minutes.

Would fast walking be overtraining or elliptical better or would fast walking mimic running more and thus translate more over to improving my running ?

SMART Approach