Waving hello! (Read 614 times)

AlexaCT

Hi everyone, 

I stumbled upon RA and thought I'd say hello.

I am a running newbie and I've been perusing running sites to get more info.  I'm 32 and started the C25K program in August, after being completely inspired by my sister's first Ironman. I've lost about 40lbs in the last 6 months, and I finished my first sprint triathlon and 5k this fall.  I am planning on registering for the Brooklyn Half in May. I'm currently running about 4 times a week, 12-16mpw, at a slowwww 12min/mile.

I have never been a runner and I feel like a superstar with every mile I  get under my belt.  I just want to keep this going and improve my distance and pace.  I still have about 20lbs to lose but I'm putting the number on the scale secondary to my fitness level and overall health.

I welcome the advice and knowledge that everyone here has to offer!

I can and I will!

AnnQ

Hi,

What a great start you've made!  That's a fine amount of running and pace for somebody at your stage of things - any stage really.  Have fun with it.

Yes, that's a very good start.  Lots of people swear by C25K so keep it up and don't worry about your pace.

4/14/24 Napa Valley 50k, Calistoga, CA

7/20/24 Tahoe Rim Trail 56 miler, NV

9/21/24 Mountain Lakes 100, OR

Jenven

Welcome! And Congrats on your progress so far!

Started C25K on 9/6/12. First 5K set for 1/13/13.

AlexaCT

Thanks everyone!

I'm looking forward to picking your brain and/or complaining to you as I train for my half.

I can and I will!

bojangles

Sucks running here in CT during the winter months huh AlexaCT? Or I am just a big wussy. Either or.

AlexaCT

Sucks running here in CT during the winter months huh AlexaCT? Or I am just a big wussy. Either or.

It sure did yesterday!  I tried to treadmill it yesterday and gave up.  I'll take cold and wet over monotony any day!

Today was gorgeous though!  Where in CT are you?  I ran down at Compo today and it was glorious!

I can and I will!

bojangles