My left knee is my limiting factor! (Read 715 times)

I just picked up running last October. Love it. I am now training for my first half marathon, which I will run in about 2 months. My long run is now 7 miles and is increasing by about 1 mile per week. I feel great during and after the run; the one thing that is bothering me is my left knee. It gets pretty sore, especially the longer I run. I'm worried that when I get up to 10-13 miles it may limit me. There isn't anything wrong with it as far as I know. Is there anything that can be done to minimize the wear and tear on the knees? One thing I think helped today - I found that by turning my left foot so that the toes pointed inward a little (or at least they felt that way compared to the way I normally run), the knee felt much better. Does that make any sense? Confused
    derek

I started running in July and did the C25K plan. I graduated from that at started to really run at the beginning of September. I've been having knee pains in my right knee since the beginning of December and I've tried a lot of things, including visiting 2 different doctors, a Sports medicine doctor and a Podiatrist. I've had to abandon a couple of my longer runs because of knee pains. The first doctor took some x-rays and said my patella wasn't tracking properly. From what I can find, that's pretty much "Runner's Knee". The Podiatrist had my try some over-the-counter inserts, but they caused pains in my arches so I stopped using them after just 2 runs. Last week during my 10-mile run, I started to get knee pain again after about 3 miles. I decided to try slowing down and see if it would help (I have to thanks sabershooter for this as I saw he's running some insane mileage at a slower pace than me). Up until that point, I've been running at about a 9:45 min/mile pace. I slowed to about 10:30 min/mile. After another mile, my knee felt a lot better and I was able to run the whole 10 miles. By the end, I didn't have any knee pain at all...bu