Runner's Knee (Read 209 times)

Christirei

I have been running for almost ten years now, and logging my miles for almost as long. I ran my last marathon about six years ago and since then have been running consistently. My injury of choice is a strained hamstring.  Smile   the past two years i have been consistenly running thirty to thirty five miles per week, finally this winter my hamstring issues seemed to be resolving and i decided that i needed to run another marathon. I am currently seven weeks into a twenty week marathon training plan (lydiard)

I have been running in  Brooks PureFlow for about the last five years. I love them. they have a 4mm drop, light cushioning, very flexible. When my shoe gets to the end of its life, i get a litte twinge of knee pain and i get a new pair of shoes, i can normally get about four hundred miles out of each pair of shoes. this spring right as i was deciding to start this marathon plan, the knee pain started, got a new pair of pureflows and it didn't go away. i thought maybe with the increase in my mileage i need something with a bit more cushioning, so i did some research and decided to give Topos Athletics Ultrafly a try (5 mm drop but much more cushioning) and the pain went away immediately....for about a month. Its back now and worse than ever.