Calculate grade (Read 2573 times)

eric :)

Ooh... RA Toughness Scale... RATS! I love it. I'll probably think this thing to death. There are two easy cases: a completely flat course, and a non-stop continuous uphill course. The problem are the ones in between. Take Pike's Peak. You run up 13.1 miles, then down 13.1 miles. Is it harder, easier, or the same as a continuous uphill of the same amount of climb? How should downhills be accounted? I think the best way to come up with a rating system is to see how a course affects someone's finish time. Anyone here a statistician? Are you thinking what I'm thinking?
    Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

I am a part-time statistician. I'd love to see the simple grade stuff. Then we can come up with the scale...
      va

... I think the best way to come up with a rating system is to see how a course affects someone's finish time. Anyone here a statistician? Are you thinking what I'm thinking?
        Hmmm, this is a clever approach to solving this problem. Perhaps a comparison of the finish time distribution of all participants (e.g., use the finish time associated with the peak of the finish time distribution curve).
        va

Besides maximum ascent/descent grade, there are some other simple measures that may be interesting to gather from a map’s elevation data: - average ascent/descent grade (e.g., 2%/2.4%) - percentage distribution of ascents, descents, and flats (e.g., 30% uphill, 33% downhill, 47% flat) - longest ascent/descent (e.g., 2.5 miles/1.8 miles) - total number of hills (i.e., number of local maximums) (e.g., 14) Note that for the maximum and longest ascent/descent, it would be good to inidcate the position that they occur in the course. For example: - maximum ascent/descent grade (e.g., 4%@12.5 miles/-6%@7.8 miles) - longest ascent/descent (e.g., 2.5 miles@3.6 miles/1.8 miles@21.4 miles)
          Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey