First 5k! (Read 820 times)

Warning: I write long posts sometimes, plus it's Monday and my brain doesn't work well enough to do real work at work yet. I ran my first organized 5k ever this weekend - the 15th Annual Frank Kush 5k in Tempe, AZ. I've been running on and off for about three years now as a complement to cycling, and finally about two weeks ago something "clicked" and running doesn't feel weird and awkward and uncomfortable anymore. Racing isn't something that gives me too much anxiety, as I raced bikes for a bit and did a season of cyclocross, the most anaerobic ridiculous entertaining sport ever. Anyway, now that it's not 100+ degrees every day in AZ, it's race season! There is a 5k pretty much every weekend from now until April, and being on the lazier side, I chose one that took place less than a quarter mile from my house with the luxurious start time of 8:30am (what is with races that start at 7am?! Brutal!!). I woke up at 7am or so, took Ralphy-dog out for a little jaunt, then had a Clif Bar and some Midol (yeah... I wasn't feeling too great, damn ovaries), and then proceeded to look for my Garmin. I have a big, clunky 201 which takes up half of my forearm, but I love using it for pacing and since it's so big and seems to lose signal and beep all the time, I also tend to talk to it while training to ease boredom. I couldn't find it, got kind of panicked about how much a new one would cost, realized it was 7:45am, and walked over to the race site to register. Registration was easy and fast. I was planning on registering in advance online, but the site was down and I ended up forking over $5 extra on race day. After pinning my number I ran back home to use the bathroom and drink some more water and look for my Garmin more. Ran down the street back to the race (how's that for a warmup), played with a few dogs (it was a dog-allowed 5k - super cool!), and lined up. It took a while for people to get out of the way since it was a family 5k and kids were w