20-25 miles each week with no variety. Am I making a mistake? (Read 1122 times)

cikana2

Ok, so I'm 53 and I run 20 miles or so each and every week. I've been running for about 8 years, but have no desire to compete. I just run to get outside and keep the weight off. My runs are always in the 5-8 mile range due to time restraints with family and work. I have had two knee surgeries in the last 20 years but everything works fine now. The knees feel great. I don't really do anything except stretch and run my miles. I don't have any sort of training plan, I don"t do any speed work, I don't time myself, I don't run at any sort of pace other than how I feel during that day and that run. I just have the simple goal of running 20-25 miles each and every week. Am I setting myself up for eventual failure or injury? Is a plan and variety of runs a requirement? Thanks.
      Well, since you have no goals I'd think it's impossible to fail Wink. Actually I did the same thing before I started this Marathon program (Although I did always note how long it took) and I'll go back to doing that very system once I finish the Marathon. If you look back on my log you would see I started running 5'S, then 10's then 15's. I was running 17k's 5 to 6 times a week. So I say nothing wrong with that!

"The drops of rain make a hole in the stone, not by violence, but by oft falling." - Lucretius

I'm also 53, but have been running for only 9 months. Although I'm not particularly interested in competition, I did do a 10K a couple of months ago. Basically, my training is about like yours. I think it's great. No pressure, no distance measurement, no clock (except overall workout time). If you like it, there's nothing wrong with it. If it ain't broke. . . Big grin Enjoy! Paul
          sounds like you are doing the right thing, to me. Thats what I like about running, each person is running for is own goals and reasons. we are all winners. Smile

TRIing to beat the heat!