Heart Rate through the roof!! (Read 1095 times)

Giant

I've been running for 3 years. Not very fast (5K @30min). For the first 10 min, my HR is around 170! My max is 184. Is this normal. I find it extremely high. My Monitor is working fine.
    chrimbler

This is normal, everybody's HR will start out high and then will settle down as your body responds to the 'shock' of physical activity
      Run like you stole it!
      jEfFgObLuE

I've got a fever...

That's about 92% of max (assuming your max really is 184 -- if you're using 220-age to for your max, good chance it's wrong.) Was 170 your peak, or your average for the race? As you run more and race more and learn to increase your intensity, peaking out at 97~98% in at the end of a 5k is not unusual.

On your deathbed, you won't wish that you'd spent more time at the office.  But you will wish that you'd spent more time running.  Because if you had, you wouldn't be on your deathbed.

It is doubtful that your HR max is 184 because the formulae are notoriously inaccurate. Try doing progressively faster repeats and see what your HR actually gets up to. Once you get to the point of puking, collapsing or any combination of the two, you'll be at your true max heart rate. Tom

The Greatest of All Time

It is doubtful that your HR max is 184 because the formulae are notoriously inaccurate. Try doing progressively faster repeats and see what your HR actually gets up to. Once you get to the point of puking, collapsing or any combination of the two, you'll be at your true max heart rate. Tom
            Exactly. Go to a track. Warm up. Run a mile as fast as you can and sprint the last 200m. That will be close to your max HR. I have been operating under the assumption my max was 195 because it previously had peaked around 193 during a 5k. On Saturday it hit 201 and it wasn't a fluke or glitch. Using the generic calculation my max should be 183, which is obviously incorrect.