Miles on Shoes (Read 735 times)

jmccarter79

This might sound crazy.......however, I'm somewhat new to running and would like to know how many miles I should put on a pair of running shoes? Cool I've heard replace them at 300 miles or 6 months.....which ever comes first. Any input would be great!!!
      It's not a crazy question, but it's certainly been asked and debated here a lot. I'd advise using the search feature. In short: It depends on form, weight, personal preference. Some people reports shoes conking or feeling old in as little as a couple hundred miles. 400-600 is what I've seen as a "standard range." And then there's age: Some say the sole materials break down over time and advise replacing shoes older than a year regardless of mileage.

ultramarathon/triathlete

brand of shoes will vary, but yeah, the general rule of thumb is 300 miles/ 6 months. According to a recent poll my firm did for a major shoe company, most people wait around 300 miles, so to save you the back and forth from so many opinions, let me just say we already asked the question, so I can save you the researh Cool Roughly: 15% say under 100 miles 50% say 300 miles 20% say 301-500 15% say 501+

HTFU?  Why not!

USATF Coach

Empire Tri Club Coach
        Gatorade Endurance Team

RunAsics

The Limping Jogger

Also, the running surface is also a factor. If you run most of your miles on a treadmill a shoe will tend to last a bit longer. My experience is that light weight shoes start going off between 250 and 300 miles. Normal stability shoes seem to last 400 to 450 miles.

"Only a few more laps to go and then the action will begin, unless this is the action, which it is."

I've always used 450 miles as my replacement point, and I haven't had problems (knock wood) to this point.

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Steven Wright

Darla1