Swollen ankles (Read 6176 times)

I noticed yesterday in the shower that my ankles were abnormally swollen... They don't hurt or anything but they do look quite badly. I went to a running shop today and the (lovely) sales assistant was a bit surprised when she saw them and recommended me to see a podiatrist; however, five minutes afterwards the shop manager said it was not *that* bad, and that I didn't need to see a doctor if it didn't hurt (which it doesn't at all) I'm relatively new to running, so I wonder if this is normal... Should I do anything? Will they be back to normal soon? Can I do anything about it (i.e. ibuprofen, ice, etc) or should I just forget about it and keep running?
    PRs 5K 21:44 10K 51:35 51:09 48:41
      Hi Roark You are just north of the river from me Big grin A few weeks ago I undertook a very wet, very muddy and very hilly cross country 10 mile run and on my return home I found my ankles were a little swollen. I realised that they were bruised, simple as that. I had up some pretty serious hills and terrain Black eye There are various reasons that joints can swell up, bruising (as above) , over training and even dehydration can cause problems. It has been very humid in London over the past week and this maybe a contributary factor. You don't state how old you are but looking at your profile image, you don't look "past it" Wink but in over 40's infammation of joints can be a problem. I would stick on the safe side, rest up for a couple of days, take some ibuprofen and enjoy the weekend. I know it will probably infuriate you as running is for the weekend but it has worried you enough to ask around.

Jerry
      A runners blog-updated daily

SMART Approach

Roark, Can you press on your ankles and the indent is slow to fill in? This would then be edema. Do a Google on it? Ibuprofen could add to this. If not, you have inflammation that needs to be addressed. Ibuprofen would help.