Help reaching my goal (Read 626 times)

So... as a total beginner (started running in April), I wonder what the folks would suggest as a good way to proceed toward the goal of running a half marathon in September 2009. Of course, I just want to finish but I would prefer if it wasn't a miserable event Smile so I would like to be fairly well prepared. I have tried to find local 5Ks but literally can't find a single one in my area (I'm not in NA). There is a 10k I might be able to get to in June 2009 but that is it for shorter distances, they don't seem too common in this country. I know there is a heap of collective experience on this forum so I look forward to lots of suggestions. Cheers!
    The Graduates - a community of post C25K runners!

Started Running 21 April 2008

2008 Running Goals
    • Finish C25K 22 Jun 2008
    • Run 5K 43:29 29 Jun 2008
    • Complete a 10K fun run

Just Be

Gradually build up your easy miles. You've given yourself over 1 year to reach your goal of a half marathon, which is plenty of time as long as you train smart and avoid injury. I'd say you should slowly build up to about 25 to 35 miles per week by May or so of 2009 using the 10% rule as a general guideline to avoid injury, then do some race specific workouts, possibly taper starting about 2 weeks before your race and then go for it! Remember, try not to increase intensity and duration at the same time - especially as a beginner. Either 1 or the other per week. Best of luck to you in achieving your goal!! Smile