Marathon to 5k (Read 176 times)

Chris Pinney

I have been running for about 4 years now. Focusing mainly on one half and one full per year. Maybe run a 5k or two for fun. I've begun to realize I might be more cut out for the shorter stuff. Just looking for any tips on the transition. I'd peak at about 45-50 mpw in marathon training 3:44 pr. Any advice appreciated.

npaden

I really like this article on the 5k by Pete Magill.

http://www.runnersworld.com/race-training/solving-the-5k-puzzle

Current PR's:  Mara 3:14:36* (2017); HM 1:36:13 (2017); 10K 43:59 (2014); 5K 21:12 (2016)

Chris Pinney

Wow,thanks npaden. Great stuff

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

Maybe you need to find a M25K plan on the web.

JanaLamb

I think there was a 5k thread before. I just forgot what it's called. They had pretty good links there.

Anyway, this one's cool, too! I like this one.

I really like this article on the 5k by Pete Magill.

http://www.runnersworld.com/race-training/solving-the-5k-puzzle

Increase Speed and Stamina Blog

Lane

I'd peak at about 45-50 mpw in marathon training 3:44 pr. Any advice appreciated.

If you peak at about 45-50 mpw in marathon training, you should peak at about 45-50 mpw in 5k training.  Training for both is basically the same (with some small tweaks) about 90% of the time.  No need to reduce mileage/training time just because the race is shorter - just spread the mileage around a little bit differently.

mikeymike

If you peak at about 45-50 mpw in marathon training, you should peak at about 45-50 mpw in 5k training.  Training for both is basically the same (with some small tweaks) about 90% of the time.  No need to reduce mileage/training time just because the race is shorter - just spread the mileage around a little bit differently.

I agree with this. The reason many of us run 5k PRs off marathon training is that our marathon training more closely resembles ideal 5k training than ideal marathon training.

Runners run

Chris Pinney

Funny