Race Day Gear help!! (Read 758 times)

OK, I'm a relative newbie with one 10K under my belt. I've trained hard for a half-marathon on January 13th and am shooting for my 1h:55m goal (my training partner's time in his first HM...yeah, I'm competitive). I need some help. The weather here in Mobile, AL will most likely be 35-45 on raceday morning, (not cold to many of you, but chilly to us Mobilians.) Has anybody had to start off with 2 shirts on (shortsleeved and longsleeved) and finish the race with one as it warms up? What can I do with it during the race? Tie it around my waist? Then where do I wear my number? Should I just start off cold with just 1 shirt to start? I HATE being cold to start running! Also, whats the lightest, easiest way to carry one-maybe 2 Goo Packets? Sorry if this sounds nitpicky, but I'm sure you experienced racers can identify......right??? Big grin Thanks, Nate in Alabama
      In most of my races, I pin my number to my shorts. Then you don't have to worry about the shirts. In my last half, in similar weather to yours coming up, I wore a long sleeve tech shirt with a wind breaker. After it got too warm, I tied it around my waist. Make sure to get some cheap gloves. I get them at CVS for $2 a pair.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

#artbydmcbride

Bonkin has great advice! Two shirts are great for keeping you warm, but I have found removing one during the race over my head is problematic to say the least. I like a cheap windbreaker that zips up; I get two or three at the Goodwill store for a few bucks. Then I can just unzip it and toss it aside or tie it around my waist. If I tie it around my waist, I can carry gu in the pockets too. Otherwise I stuff a gu in that little key pocket in my pants.

Runners run

Bonkin has great advice!