Racing Flats for Flat Feet (Read 2931 times)

I know that racing flats don't have much cushioning and whatnot. I have completely flat feet. Would it be a bad idea for me to invest in a pair of racing flats to run with in races? Would I risk injury?
    xor

I do not know the answer, though I also don't know any flat footers who wear flats. But: why, specifically do you want to wear flats? (I'm starting this w/o judgment. Just curious about why folks make this choice)

finney

Resident pinniped

Just taking an educated guess here. I have hypermobile feet, which means that my feet have a normal arch sitting down, but once I stand they don't hold it, so I have some experience in the matter. From what I hear, flats only make a measurable difference if you're racing at a really good/sub elite/elite level. For most folks, it won't matter too much one way or the other. Second, I guess it would depend on the distance. You'd probably come away sore but suffering no long term damage running a 5k or 5 mile in flats. Running a marathon in flats might end your running days. Orthotics might be an answer, but I'm not sure how well they work in flats. Never tried it nor known anyone that has. Maybe someone else can help out with that one. Unless you're at a competitive level, I wouldn't go with flats personally.

jules2

I wear flats when racing with some orthotics inside even on half marathons you do go quicker and I've never had a problem. Could the increase in speed be due partly to a bosst in confidence as you "feel" faster with them on? I have some fell running shoes that are similar in that they have a hard thinish sole and no padding and with just the orthotics inside I did 15 miles the other week with no problem. Sometimes I wonder if cushoning is good for you and I do seem to have had less injuries since I stripped the cushoning out of all my trainers and replaced them with stiff orthotics.

Old age is when you move from illegal to prescribed drugs.