Running a Sub 4 Minute Mile: Help and Advice Needed (Read 281 times)

Riman643

Hi everyone,

I have had a crises of sorts as a result of the new decade and feeling unfulfilled both in my life in general and athletically. So after realizing this I have come to the conclusion that I want to run a sub 4 minute mile. Everyone I have talked to either online or in real life has called me crazy and that I shouldn't even attempt to try. However I am determined to do whatever it takes to achieve this goal. The main problem is that I just do not know enough about running to be able to make a plan or training schedule to begin this undertaking. Currently I am a student, and I have cleared my schedule to be able to dedicate at least 8 hours a day to training.

As far as me personally, I am 5'8" tall and currently around 209 lbs and 24 years old. I am currently not running but do have an athletic background and know how to push myself. I'm assuming the first thing I'll need to do is slim down but I do not know what an ideal running weight would be. The lower end of my BMI is 121.2 lbs and that is what I am currently aiming for weight wise. After that though, I'm not sure what to do. At what weight will it be good for me to start running? Currently I am just walking but I think I should be doing more. I just really lack any type of training or knowledge about how to train for a medium distance run like this. Do I need to do sprints and long distance?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Starting tomorrow I will be spending every single second of my free time training for this. I like planning ahead and building a training schedule so that is why have I come asking for help from more experienced people. Thanks!

dpschumacher

3 months til Masters