Running in the Country (Read 268 times)

cntrygrl3500

Hi all!

I am VERY new to this! I grew up in a very small town- less than 300 people! With that being said- I have not touched a weight or ran since high school! AND my metabolism is slowing down! Meaning I have to get off of my lazy- you know what- and get to work!

What are some suggestions so I don't over do anything? I get sore very easily! I do a lot around our farm and ride horses a lot. But I still feel like I am lacking something!

Thank you!

PS I have only been out of high school for 3 years.

First thing, go slow.  Start out with walking (on a farm you probably already do enough).  Be able to walk 30 minutes without an issue, then slowly start jogging.  Try jogging from telephone pole to the next telephone pole, then walk to the next one and alternate.  Start off with about a half mile, then slowly build up.

I bet you are more fit than you believe you are if you are riding horses, and you will be tempted to build too fast.  But you want to build slowly to avoid getting injured, running puts a lot of stress on bones and joints if you ramp up too quickly.

You might look for a couch to 5k plan.  They will generally get you up to 3 miles in 10-12 weeks without too much stress.

GinnyinPA

I'll second the C25k plan for starting out.  Start with half an hour, 3 or 4 days a week.  Keep your running slow and easy, as much as possible.  When that feels easy, gradually increase the time/distance you run and the number of days, but as a beginner, you need time for your muscles/bones/tendons to recover.