Sever stomach burn during 5k race (Read 1196 times)

Roger C

Hello all, I have been running consitently for 3 years 20-25 miles per week. Every time I run a 5k race I get a severe stomach burn. Not muscular or cramp but sever burn in the stomach. I used to get this on any run at any pace but found that I could eat a cereal bar 30 minutes before a run and all was good. This does not work for the 5k races. I think my legs are strong enough to run a faster 5k but the stomach causes me to slow. I missed a pr today by 4 seconds. I gave it all I had but was not enough. Anyone had this and have any suggestions. RC
    Len

Damn Yankee

Is the burn similar to heartburn/indigestion? I know a few people that like to chew a couple of tums or rolaids before a race to offset any acid related issues during their run.

Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending. Carl Bard

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

I am not sure what you mean by "stomach burn". Giving it one's all in a 5k, as you describe, often makes folks gurgle and puke.
          What are you eating the day before? I find my stomach feels a lot better when I eat safe foods the day before and the morning of the race. Nothing greasy, spicy, fried, fatty, etc, and no soft drinks. The morning of the race I'll wake up pretty early and some eat toast or something light. Also, I don't drink coffee before races as it tends to make my stomach upset, especially when I drink it without much food in my stomach.
          Roger C

I eat 1 cereal bar half hour before run and about 16 oz. of coffee. Maybe the coffee is causing the acid. I will have to try to eliminate that. Thanks, Roger
            finney

Resident pinniped