Heart rate traing. (Read 253 times)

Adam Gentile

I picked up the new Garmin 235 which has built in HR monitor.  I have been running for over 20 years, I know about the MAF method but have no desire to be 100% committed running for 6 months slow.   I don't want the HR monitor to go to waste, my question is can you use HR training part time?   Like maybe just my longs runs in the MAF zone?

kilkee

runktrun

The technology isn't perfect and everyone's body responds differently....BUT I think if you download HR data sporadically but look at trends over time relative to the type of run, perceived effort, and performance, you can get some good data from it.  Eg: HR is steadily increasing on easy runs over the course of a few weeks at the same pace would give you reason to look more closely at your training load (overtraining), or taking note of what your max HR is in each workout over time.

Not running for my health, but in spite of it.

I don't want the HR monitor to go to waste...

Think of it like heated rear seats, or the humidity slider on the fridge “crisper” drawer...the change pouch triangle thingy in your pants pocket..the reheat setting on a toaster. Not so much "going to waste", just a feature you don't use and don't really need.

Come all you no-hopers, you jokers and rogues
        We're on the road to nowhere, let's find out where it goes
        kcam

MAF advocates contend that it is not running 'slow'.  It is training appropriately.  If you are the type of runner who runs his daily maintenance runs 'too hard' then an HRM can be useful in getting you to run closer to appropriate effort.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

Think of it like heated rear seats, or the humidity slider on the fridge “crisper” drawer...the change pouch triangle thingy in your pants pocket..the reheat setting on a toaster. Not so much "going to waste", just a feature you don't use and don't really need.