October 18th Marathon <4 Hour (Read 150 times)

ledfortr

Hello all, I am training for my first full marathon on October 18th.  I started training at about a 1/2 marathon as my top distance.  I have slowly built up and I am at 18 miles for my weekly distance run and 19 miles this Saturday.

As this is my first marathon, I want to make sure I do it right.  Please take a look at my plan and provide any feedback.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1r_-cyMQFn65_KbFVw1gAayhkHx_-ZY7SDrItFEh8raI/edit?usp=sharing

The current "discussion" occurring with another forum member (kilkee) is whether or not to split my distance runs over 2 days when I run for more than 3 miles.

My goal is to run a <4 hour race.  I was injured last year for this same race and need to take it slow.

My objective rankings are as follows;

1. Finish the race injury free

2. <4 Hour Finish

3. Lose 10 or so lbs, this will probably happen regardless as long as I follow the plan.  I am 6'2 about 189 right now.

I deeply appreciate everyone's guidance.  I'll definitely factor in everyone's advice to come up with the best plan for me.

runnerclay

Consistently Slow

6 weeks out. It is to late for a plan of any real value. What is you current 10k race time?

Run until the trail runs out.

SCHEDULE 2016--

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

unsolicited chatter

http://bkclay.blogspot.com/

ledfortr

55 Minutes for a 10k.

My last distance run during training averaged about 9min and 15 second miles (also including my warmup and a 1000' hill).

I believe I'm on my way to hit my goal time, just looking for any helpful tweaks to my current plan.  My target avg pace per mile 9min 9sec