Do I need a plan? (Read 1368 times)

Non ducor, duco.

I have been running for about 4 months. Before my log that you will see here, I would get on the tmill at the gym and do 4-5 miles a day 4-5 times a week. I finally learned that was not the way to do things and I switched to what you can see on my log. I have worked up to six days a week. My question is this: Should I just keep doing what I am doing iincrease my long runs, staying within the 30% guideline, and incrementally increase my daily runs...also no more than 10% a week? Or should I start to stretch out my long runs. It seems like when I look at other people's logs they are running same number of miles but longer long runs. I have only done one 10K (57:ish). I do another 10K on the 6th of April. I just signed up for a half in November. Im happy doing what Im doing, but I wonder if I should be doing something more/else to prepare for the half. I guess Im kinda clueless of where to go next.

Queen of 3rd Place

I've tried various plans, and have never stuck to one, they're either too easy or too hard - they just get in the way of doing what works best for me. So I ditched the plans, although I still look at them to get ideas, and have done what works for me, feels right, and gets me pointed towards my goals. Oh - and I have fun - that part's important. Sounds like you have a pretty good idea about what to do, and you can experiment with the various ideas that you mentioned, e.g., try out some longer long runs (I happen to really like long runs, but I hurt my brain back in the day...somehow... ... what was I saying?). Arla

Ex runner

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero