Bad jogging form (Read 122 times)

Nadia82

Hi,

So I started running again in February. I was never good at it and had to quit running+gym for the whole of 2019 because of a back injury. I'm also a light smoker (and yes, I know it's terrible).

So I've been running 2 or 3 times a week for 3 months now,, and am having to stretch and foam roll my IT band a lot. I know my form is very good when I run "fast" (5 mins per km) but I can't sustain that speed for very long at all (maybe a minute at the most, hello ciggie). But I am beginning to realise I just can't jog. It becomes painful rather quickly, say 10 minutes in (shins, knees, and above all hips). If runs get painful I end up alternating, every minute, jog (7 to 8 min per km) , run (4 to 5 min per km) and walk (12 min per km) ... But I can only do it so much until the jogging part just kills me almost immediately. (So then I walk a bit, then run again, and the running bit almost feels like a stretch and seems to release my hips).

Any clue what I could be doing wrong or what I could do to improve things? I've only just resumed some at-home strength training, focusing on glutes and core - should that help?

It just takes time to build your base. Running will become easier eventually.

keep it up and report back in September.

Go slow, here's how:

Start walking, go faster and faster until it becomes easier to jog than walk. That is your jogging/conversational pace.

Don't get caught up paying attention to discomforts of running, you'll just amplify them in your head. Wear some headphones and listen to music, the news, podcast, anything. Concentrate on that.

60-64 age group  -  University of Oregon alumni  -  Irreverent and Annoying

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay