Scared New Runner (Read 243 times)

Vanessago

Yesterday while I was out running with the running group, we came across a fellow female runner that had been hit by a car.
    She had minor injuries however she still had to be rushed to the hospital. I’m relatively new to running, but this incident really shocked me.
    I’m not sure if I’m being native about this but how often does this happen in the rest of the world? Or does South Africa just have really crappy drivers?

When do these incidents most likely occur?I don’t know if I should fear running in the day more than at night

Feeling the growl again

I wouldn't say it's common but it can happen anywhere when people and cars are near each other.  Just use common sense.  Avoid running places where you can't be a safe distance from cars or both parties can't see each other in time (hills, curves).  Run against traffic so you see them coming.  Run in daylight or light up like a Christmas tree; dusk and dawn are probably the most dangerous times.

I've been running about 25 years.  I can think of 3 times I was very nearly hit.  Two of those were at high enough speeds to have led to serious injury.  Close calls averted without coming in contact or within inches….countless.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

muppy

+1 To what Spaniel said.

I always wear bright fluorescent colored shirts. I'm always looking for cars and  assuming that they're playing on your phone and not watching for people.  Whenever possible, I try to run on the trails or  roads  without much traffic.  Try not to let one incident like this scare you, but I am also always constantly aware of vehicles around me.

Christirei