Sub 15:00 5k tips (Read 2583 times)

Shocked I am trying to get back into running and I am having a hard time. I would like to run under 15:00 in a 5k 6 weeks from now. Does anyone have any advice?
    JamieKU

What does your log look like and what are your previous prs and how long have you been away from running. You should be doing 60+ miles per week at a strong pace 6:00+/-.
      JakeKnight

Shocked I am trying to get back into running and I am having a hard time. I would like to run under 15:00 in a 5k 6 weeks from now. Does anyone have any advice?
        Um ...... do you perhaps mean a 15:00 per mile pace? Because if you're "trying to get back into running" and you're actually planning on running sub-5:00 miles, you sure don't need my advice. The only time I run that fast is to the fridge for a beer during a timeout.

E-mail: eric.fuller.mail@gmail.com
        -----------------------------

I have been running off and on for the last 2 years. Run one month, stop the next. Right now I am running 6 miles twice a week at slightly under 6:00 pace. Occasionally I will run a speed workout. 4-6 700m repeats @ 1:52-2:10
          JakeKnight

I have been running off and on for the last 2 years. Run one month, stop the next. Right now I am running 6 miles twice a week at slightly under 6:00 pace.
            Seriously? Are you from Kenya by any chance?

Wingz

Professional Noob

Wow. Just think what you could do if you could consistantly train! Shocked What makes you stop for a month every other month? Are you hurting yourself that often?

Roads were made for journeys...

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Sheesh, some people have all the luck (ie natural born talent). k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

Once I take one day off, it is too easy to follow it up with fifteen more.
                  JakeKnight