Multi-race training (Read 160 times)

kar77

I'm new to running; did a stint of about 6 months 3 years ago (did 3 5K's during that time) and have been running again since the end of May this year.  I have been following the run 30 minutes straight plan from the Runner's World Go app and I'm almost finished with it; it was a 7-week program.  I have a 5K scheduled for tomorrow and know I will have to take at least a few 30 second breaks (maybe 2) as much as I don't want to.  I'm not fast at all.  My question is this: I have a bucket list of distance races I would like to do over the next 2 years: get as close to a 30-minute 5K as I can, complete a 10K, half-marathon, and marathon along with a triathlon.  Is there a training plan that I could use that would cover all of these goals (I think I could figure out the triathlon training with a program I found sticking it between running days) or do I have to pick a different training plan for each race?  I open to any type of training plan, i.e.; Daniels, Higdon, Fitzgerald, Hanson, etc. The only type of plan I really don't want to follow is a Galloway one.  I understand the merits behind the run-walk methods but I would like to be able to run the entire distances even if it means taking longer to train for them.  I am in Chicago (well north of the city) and heard the Chicago Marathon is a good race for first marathons, not sure if that is true or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance for your help,

Kim

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

Run lots; mostly slow, sometimes fast.

kilkee

runktrun

Don't worry about specific training plans for future races yet.  To answer your question bluntly, no, there is no specific giant training plan that will get you through all those distances because they have different demands.  The only "plan" is to run more miles (prudently, without getting injured) and build your endurance so that you can finish the distances with minimal walking.