Watchung Marathon Race Report (Read 644 times)

ultramarathon/triathlete

Short version:

I decided to run a Winter trail marathon in New Jersey.  I've never done a trail run before and it was hard!  

Rocky, twisty, muddy, hilly, and most of all damn hard to follow!  

I fell a few times, into a stream once, down a steep rocky decline once, got a little lost, got VERY lost, forgot to bring anything to drink, got lost again, had a great time and ended up 2nd place.  

I'll be back next year for sure! 

Long version:

Watchung Winter Marathon Race Report

This past weekend I started off my 2012 plan to run a marathon-a-month.  I found a convenient race in my wife’s nearby hometown which would serve several purposes: bag the first marathon of the year, keep costs low (minimal travel, low entry fee, no hotel needed) and visit my mother in law.  Oh and try a new kind of race --I’ve never done a trail race.

The Watchung Winter Series is unique in that it:

• Is entirely off-road, through winding single-track trails in the NJ Watchung Nature Reservation
    • Minimally supported (two manned aid stations, one un-manned aid station)
    • No race shirts, no awards, no trophies but it is timed
    • No people on the course telling you where to turn (just follow the trail markers, occasional hash-arrows in white flower or chalk and an occasional bit of orange ribbon)
    • No spectators cheering or providing encouragement; no bands
    • Several distances to choose from: 10k, 10M,Marathonor 50k, none of which are accurate to the advertised mile